The Gentle Storm (Paaspop Schijndel, April 2015)

The Gentle Storm is a project that results from a co-operation between Arjen Lucassen and Anneke van Giersbergen.

Anneke’s name as a singer was made since the days she joined The Gathering back in 1994. Multi-instrumentalist Arjen is world famous for the project Ayreon he started in 1994 and it was in the creation of Ayreon’s third (and most successful) album ‘Into The Electric Castle’ which was released on 31 October 1998 that Anneke and Arjen worked together for the first time. After Anneke had left The Gathering they repeated that co-operation for Ayreon’s 7th album ‘01011001’ released in January 2008.

The Gentle Storm’s double album ‘The Diary’ was released on 23 March 2015, to be followed by a live tour in which Arjen Lucassen will not appear. Only exception to this was the release show at De Melkweg Amsterdam on 26 March where he appeared as special guest.

The Gentle Storm’s live band are: Anneke van Giersbergen (vocals), Ferry Duijsens (guitar), Merel Bechtold (guitar), Johan van Stratum (bass), Marcela Bovio (backing vocals), Joost van den Broek (keys) and Ed Warby (drums).

I shot these pictures during The Gentle Storm’s show at Paaspop Schijndel on 5 April 2015.

Comments are closed.